The Institute of Science and Technology (IoST) is one of the pioneer technical institutes under Tribhuvan University. IoST has at present 13 Central Departments, 25 constituent campuses and 103 affiliated campuses. This institute has been actively serving the country in the field of Science and technology as well as in research. All the Central Departments run regular Master and Ph.D. Programmes. Some campuses run both the Bachelor and Master programmes.

A large number of students work on scientific research projects launched in the Central Departments at M.Sc. levels. The number of scholars doing Ph. D. in different areas is increasing every year. The IoST has given high priority to collaborative exchange programme in order to make faculty, research scholars and students more competent. The Institute has enough linkage and collaboration with different ministries, national and international organizations and academic  institutions to foster  the research activity accordingly.

Vision and objectives

The IoST intends to promote the quality of its departments in terms of effective teaching learning activities, research activities, quality education and to develop them as Centre of Excellence by setting up well-equipped laboratories, Libraries, employing high skilled man powers and providing advisory services in science and technology in close collaboration with national and international agencies. Recently TU Executive Council has made decision to establish the IoST as the centre of excellence under the chairmanship of the Dean. To work in this direction, a committee has been formed and a fi year strategic plan has already been made. The main objectives of the IoST are as follows:

Recent Programmes

Programmes of IoST

  1. a) Bachelor’s Level (B.Sc. Programmes)

Annual System Programmes

  1. B.Sc. 4 year (running from 2069 batch)
  2. B.Tech. (Food)
  3. B.Sc. (Nutrition and Dietetics)

Semester System Programmes

  1. B.Sc. CSIT (Computer Science and Information Technology)
  2. B.Sc.TTM (Tea Technology and Management)
  3. B.Mathematical Science
  4. B.Sc. Horticulture and Floriculture Management

New Degree established

  1. BIT (Bachelor in Information Technology)

  1. b) Master Level (M.Sc.) Programmes

Annual System Programmes

  1. M.Tech – Food Technology

Semester System Programmes

  1. M.Sc. CSIT
  2. M.Sc. Math
  3. M.Sc. Microbiology
  4. M.Sc. Environmental Science
  5. M.Sc. Statistics
  6. M.Sc. Bio-Technology
  7. M.Sc. Biodiversity and Environmental Management
  8. M.Sc. Physics, Chemistry, Zoology, Botany, Geology, Hydrology & Meteorology
  9. M.Sc. in Engineering Geology
  10. M.Mathematical Science

New Degree established

  1. MIT (Master Degree in Information Technology)
  2. Phil (Mathematics)
  3. Ph.D.